Desktop version
Cabinet ARC, debt collection specialist

Your money has no time to lose
       Business lawyers debt collection experts

Nous contacter par téléphone + 33 (0)1 46 03 07 07
Intranet
Client

Focus

Payment periods: a European directive lays down new rules

It is not the EU’s first attempt to tackle the issue of late payment. Directive 2011/7 / EU, adopted on 16 February by the European Parliament and the Council, replaced Directive 2000/35 / EC of 29 June 2000. The latter, considered too limited, established a right to late payment interest as from 30 days after the invoice date (unless otherwise stipulated in the contract), without however harmonizing payment periods between businesses and public authorities.

Principle: 30 days for everyone

The main new measure: Directive 2011/7 / EU places companies and public authorities on an equal footing. Now public authorities are also subject to a payment period in commercial transactions of a maximum of 30 days (Article 4.1). The new directive provides for several exceptions however. Thus, public undertaking type establishments, public hospitals and health facilities are given the option of extending the payment period to 60 days (Article 4.4 a and b).

In relation to inter-company business relations, the common law period is 30 days from the date of receipt of goods or the provision of services (Article 3.3). At the same time, contractual freedom is reaffirmed. The companies may agree between them on a payment period of 60 days or more. The new directive specifies however that the extension stipulated by contract shall not constitute an abuse for the creditor (Article 3.5, consideration 13).

Version classique du site
Logo du Cabinet ARC, spécialiste du recouvrement de créances

Votre argent n'a pas de temps à perdre
       Des juristes d'affaires experts en recouvrement de créances

Nous contacter par téléphone + 33 (0)1 46 03 07 07
Intranet
Client

Focus

Délais de paiement : une directive européenne fixe de nouvelles règles

L’UE n’en est pas à son premier coup d’essai dans la lutte contre les retards de paiements. La directive 2011/7/UE, adoptée le 16 février dernier par le Parlement européen et le Conseil, vient en effet remplacer la directive 2000/35/CE du 29 juin 2000. Cette dernière, jugée trop restreinte, a instauré un droit à des intérêts de retard 30 jours après la date de la facture (sauf stipulation contraire figurant dans le contrat), sans toutefois harmoniser les délais de paiement entre les entreprises et les pouvoirs publics.

Principe : un délai de 30 jours pour tous

Principale nouveauté : la directive 2011/7/UE place sur un pied d’égalité entreprises et pouvoirs publics. Désormais, ces derniers sont également soumis à un délai de paiement des transactions commerciales de 30 jours maximum (article 4.1). La nouvelle directive prévoit toutefois plusieurs dérogations. Ainsi, les établissements à caractère industriel et commercial (EPIC), les hôpitaux publics et les établissements de santé se voient accorder la faculté de prolonger ce délai de paiement jusqu’à 60 jours (article 4.4, a et b).

Concernant les relations commerciales interentreprises, le délai de droit commun est également de 30 jours à partir de la date de réception des marchandises ou de la prestation de service (article 3.3). Dans le même temps, la liberté contractuelle est réaffirmée. Les entreprises peuvent donc convenir entre elles d’un délai de paiement de 60 jours, voire plus. La nouvelle directive précisant néanmoins que la prolongation, stipulée par contrat, ne doit pas constituer un abus pour le créancier (article 3.5, considérant 13).